Review of “The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson (Vol 4)” by Robert Caro

My Journey Through the Best Presidential Biographies

The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson” is the fourth (and most recently published) volume in Robert Caro’s series covering the life of Lyndon B. Johnson. Caro is a former investigative reporter and the author of two Pulitzer Prize-winning biographies. He is currently working on the fifth – and presumably final – volume in his LBJ series.

Published in 2012, “The Passage of Power” covers roughly a half-dozen years: from Johnson’s campaign for the 1960 Democratic presidential nomination (while Senate Majority Leader) to his first State of the Union Address as President in 1964, just seven weeks after JFK’s assassination.

This 605-page volume is comprised of two sections of nearly equal length: the first consisting of the period leading up to Kennedy’s assassination, and the second focusing on the earliest weeks of LBJ’s presidency. Ever mindful of readers who have not read previous volumes, Caro periodically…

View original post 539 more words


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s